Press Room  —  Video Solidarity March and Rally

Highlights of the Solidarity March and Rally

On October 23, 2005, in Montreal, the GO5 Coalition organized a solidarity march and rally in favour of supply management. Quebec, Canadian and international public figures spoke about their support for dynamic local agriculture and expressed their strong concerns regarding the globalization of agriculture “WTO style”.

Choose your format
to view the video:

Biographies of speakers at the Solidarity Rally

Cheikh Mouhamady Cissokho
Cheikh Mouhamady Cissokho is a Senegalese farmer. He is Honorary President of ROPPA, the Réseau des organisations paysannes et de producteurs de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (West African farmers and farmer organizations network), which he helped set up in July 2000. ROPPA brings together the cooperation organizations and agencies in 10 West African countries (Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo). Cheikh Mouhamady Cissokho is also the Chair of the Conseil national de concertation et de coopération des ruraux du Sénégal (Senegal national coordination council for rural Senegalese), which has nine member federations (farmer associations, farming cooperatives, horticulturists, women, fishers, animal breeders, animal breeder cooperatives and forest operators).

M. Bob Friesen
A turkey farmer in Manitoba, Bob Friesen has been the President of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture since 1999. He sits on the Executive Committee of the International Federation of Agricultural Producers. In addition to serving as President of the CFA, Mr. Friesen chairs the National Safety Nets Advisory Committee, which advises the Canadian Minister of Agriculture and Agri-food. As Manitoba Director to the Canadian Turkey Marketing Agency (CTMA), he has had a seat on the Executive Committee of this agency since 1993 and served as chair for four years.

M. Pierre Marc Johnson
Pierre Marc Johnson, a former Québec premier and counsel to the Heenan Blaikie firm since 1996, joined the GO5 Coalition for a Fair Farming Model, Supply Management, as its special advisor in June 2004. Recognized for his expertise in global trade, negotiations and international partnerships, Mr. Johnson is the chief counsel and negotiator for the Québec government in the softwood lumber trade dispute between Canada and the United States.

M. Laurent Pellerin
A farmer in Bécancour in the Centre-du-Québec region, Laurent Pellerin has held the office of President of the Union des producteurs agricoles since 1993. He is also the First Vice President of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture. An interminable hard worker, his main concern is to ensure a better future for men and women who live from farming in Québec through cooperation. Mr. Pellerin has successfully drawn the attention of farming organizations around the world to the Québec model and its joint action.

M. Laurent Lessard
Laurent Lessard was Mayor of the city of Thetford-Mines from 1993 to 2003, until his election as liberal MNA for the Frontenac constituency in April 2003. Minister of Labour, and since August, of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food in Québec, Mr. Lessard previously worked as a notary in private practice from 1989 to 1998.

M. Jean-Louis Roy
Jean-Louis Roy has been President of Rights and Democracy (International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development) since 2002. A one-of-a-kind institution, it is the link between non-government and government organizations, promoting dialogue between society and government. Although its mandate is quite vast, Rights and Democracy structures its work around four themes, including globalization and human rights. Mr. Roy was formerly Director of the Montreal daily Le Devoir, Québec’s Delegate General to Paris and Secretary General of the Agence de la francophonie in Paris.

M. Jack Wilkinson
Jack Wilkinson has been a grain, oilseed and cattle farmer in Ontario since 1979. He has served as President of the International Federation of Agricultural Producers (IFAP) since May 2002. IFAP represents around one hundred farmer organizations in 71 countries. Mr. Wilkinson was previously President of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture for six years as well as well as of Ontario Federation of Agriculture.

Salle de presse  —  Vidéo du 23 octobre 2005

Vidéo « Marche et rassemblement de solidarité »

Le 23 octobre 2005, à Montréal, la Coalition GO5 organisait une marche et un rassemblement de solidarité en faveur de la gestion de l’offre. Des personnalités québécoises, canadiennes et internationales ont témoigné de leur appui à une agriculture locale dynamique et ont fait part de leurs vives inquiétudes devant la mondialisation de l'agriculture « à la manière OMC ».

Pour le visionnement du vidéo,
veuillez choisir votre format

Notices biographiques des orateurs au rassemblement de solidarité

Cheikh Mouhamady Cissokho
Cheikh Mouhamady Cissokho est un agriculteur sénégalais. Il est le président d'honneur du Réseau des organisations paysannes et de producteurs de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (ROPPA) qu'il a aidé à mettre en place en juillet 2000. Le ROPPA regroupe des organisations et des organismes de concertation de 10 pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest (Bénin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambie, Guinée, Guinée-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Sénégal, Togo). Cheikh Mouhamady Cissokho est également président du Conseil national de concertation et de coopération des ruraux du Sénégal qui regroupe neuf fédérations (associations paysannes, coopératives agricoles, horticulteurs, femmes, pêcheurs, éleveurs, coopératives d'éleveurs et d'exploitants forestiers).

M. Bob Friesen
Producteur agricole du Manitoba, éleveur de dindons entre autres, M. Bob Friesen est président de la Fédération canadienne de l'agriculture depuis 1999. Il siège au Comité exécutif de la Fédération internationale des producteurs agricoles. En plus de diriger la FCA, M. Friesen préside le Comité consultatif national sur la protection du revenu, qui conseille le ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire du Canada. À titre de directeur de la section manitobaine de l'Office canadien de commercialisation du dindon (OCCD), il siège au comité exécutif de cet office depuis 1993 et a assumé les fonctions de président pendant quatre ans.

M. Pierre Marc Johnson
M. Pierre Marc Johnson, ancien premier ministre du Québec et avocat-conseil pour la firme Heenan Blaikie depuis 1996, s'est joint en juin 2004 à GO5 Coalition pour un modèle agricole équitable, la gestion de l'offre à titre de conseiller spécial. Reconnu pour son expertise dans les domaines du commerce international, des négociations et des partenariats internationaux, M. Johnson agit comme conseiller principal et négociateur en chef du gouvernement du Québec dans le dossier du bois d'oeuvre opposant le Canada et les États-Unis.

M. Laurent Pellerin
Producteur agricole à Bécancour dans la région du Centre-du-Québec,
M. Laurent Pellerin est président de l'Union des producteurs agricoles depuis 1993. Il est également premier vice-président de la Fédération canadienne de l'agriculture. Homme infatigable, sa priorité est d'assurer par la concertation un avenir toujours meilleur aux hommes et aux femmes qui vivent de l'agriculture au Québec. M. Pellerin a su attirer l'attention de nombreuses organisations agricoles du monde entier sur le modèle québécois et son action collective.

M. Laurent Lessard
M. Laurent Lessard a été maire de la ville de Thetford-Mines de 1993 à 2003, soit jusqu'à son élection comme député libéral de la circonscription de Frontenac en avril 2003. Ministre du Travail, il est aussi, depuis le mois d'août, ministre de l'Agriculture, des pêcheries et de l'Alimentation du Québec. M. Lessard a été notaire en pratique privée de 1989 à 1998.

M. Jean-Louis Roy
M. Jean-Louis Roy est président de Droits et Démocratie (Centre international des droits de la personne et du développement démocratique) depuis 2002. Unique en son genre, cette institution fait le lien entre les organisations non gouvernementales et les gouvernements en favorisant le dialogue entre la société civile et l'État. Bien que son mandat soit très large, Droits et Démocratie articule son travail autour de quatre thématiques, dont celles de la mondialisation et des droits humains. M. Roy a été directeur du quotidien montréalais Le Devoir, délégué général du Québec à Paris et secrétaire général de l'Agence de la francophonie à Paris.

M. Jack Wilkinson
M. Jack Wilkinson est producteur de céréales, d'oléagineux et de bovins depuis 1979 en Ontario. Il est le président de la Fédération internationale des producteurs agricoles (FIPA) depuis mai 2002. La FIPA représente une centaine d'organisation de producteurs agricoles de 71 pays. M. Wilkinson a assumé la présidence de la Fédération canadienne de l'agriculture pendant six ans de même que la présidence de la Fédération de l'agriculture de l'Ontario.