Press Room  —  Video Feed our own people first

Video "Feed our own people first"

A growing number of individuals and organizations in Quebec civil society and agricultural producers’ associations all over the world are interested in supply management and support this farming model.

In a video produced in October 2005, many Quebec, Canadian and international public figures express their opinion on the inalienable right of countries to food sovereignty and call for the precedence of this right over any agricultural trade agreement. The video also presents testimonials by dairy and poultry producers to the benefits of supply management.

Choose your format
to view the video:


Download the appropriate player

Biographies notes of the persons appearing on the video

Ronald Allary
In 1983, Ronald, Serge and Fernand Alary joined their father in order to eventually take over the dairy farm in Sainte-Sophie-des-Laurentides. Together, they began a transition program toward biological farming that led to its field certification in 1999 and a dairy producer certificate in 2000. The family business then integrated another generation of farmers with Caroline, Frédérick and Gabriel. Since 2003, the Alarys have been operating the cheese plant Les Fromagiers de la Table Ronde in order to process a portion of the milk from their farm. Involved in international cooperation, Ronald Alary worked in Peru for two years and continues to be active in UPA International Development. He participated in a project in Salvador and takes in trainees on his farm every year.

Gilles Arsenault
Gilles Arsenault and his wife, Sylvie Benoît, began raising broiler chickens in 1993, buying their quota and building the poultry houses that allow them to raise their 170,000 broiler chickens every year. Their farm, located in Acton Vale in Montérégie, also produces small fruits. Mr. Arsenault appreciates the fact that collective marketing of chicken products guarantees him a market outlet for his product every year, as well as an income. His farm was one of the first in Québec to receive certification from the Canadian Food Safety and Quality Program, which he obtained in 2005.

Claude Béland
Claude Béland is an attorney and member of the Barreau du Québec. He is currently an professor at the School of Management Sciences of the Université du Québec à Montréal and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the chaire Économie et Humanisme, the first to hold that title. This position soon became the Chaire de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises et du développement durable. Serving the Fédération des caisses d'économie du Québec since 1971, Mr. Béland became its Director General in 1979. Appointed Deputy Chairman of the Dejardins Group in 1986, he was elected Chairman of the Group in 1987, a position he held until his departure in 2000.

Paulin Bouchard
Second Vice President of the Fédération des producteurs d’œufs de consommation du Québec, Paulin Bouchard owns the Paulin Bouchard Farm Inc. in Saint-Gédéon-de-Beauce. The farm has a 22,000 laying hens. An ardent defender of supply management, he took over his parent’s (Thérèse and Ludger Bouchard) farm at the age of 22 and hopes that his children will do the same. Paulin is the second generation of Bouchards to operate this business, which produces table eggs. In addition to his involvement in the farm union, he is a director of a cooperative in St-Gédéon-de-Beauce and participates, along with his spouse Michelle, in the activities of several local organizations.

Roger Carette
Mayor of the city of Saint-Georges-de-Beauce and member of the Board of Directors of the Union des municipalités du Québec, Roger Carette believes in developing partnerships to create jobs and joint action to accomplish the goals that have been set and to succeed. He was Director General of the Chaudière regional school board and founder of the Centre intégré de mécanique industrielle de la Chaudière. He has initiated and successfully led many joint representations at the various levels of government and at colleges and universities and businesses in his region.

Stuart Clark
Stuart Clark is the Senior Counselor to the Canadian Foodgrains Bank (CFB), a charity acting on behalf of 13 Christian communities in Canada. Assisting the world’s poorest, to date, the CFB has sent 944,000 tons of food to populations suffering from malnutrition, thanks to donations collected from Canadians. Mr. Stuart is considered an expert on all matters related to fair global trade, since he has been actively involved for over thirty years in the agri-food system, food aid, agriculture and right-to-food issues.

Pierre Curzi
A leading man of the theatre and an established actor, Pierre Curzi has acted in Denys Arcand’s films Le Déclin de l’empire américain and Les Invasions barbares. Passionate about theatre, he is also involved in improving artists’ conditions. Mr. Curzi is President of the Union des artistes, Co-President of the Canadian Coalition for Cultural Diversity and Vice President of the International Federation of Actors. He is very involved in political, social, economic and cultural issues. He fights for cultural diversity and against the subjection of cultural policies to the constraints of global trade.

Marielle Fafard
L’Étendard Farm Inc. is specialized in the turkey and field crop production in Saint-Félix-de-Valois, in the Lanaudière region. This family farm is in its fifth generation, represented by Marielle Fafard and her husband, Yvan Poirier. Ms. Fafard is concerned by World Trade Organization negotiations and the next generation of farmers. That is the reason why she is involved in a variety of activities that promote the profession, which also allow her to promote supply management. In addition, Ms. Fafard is intensely involved in the recruiting activities of the GO5 Coalition in her area.

N'Diogou Fall
N’Diogou Fall and his family operate a small 10-hectar farm in Risso, a village near to Thiès in the groundnut basin of Senegal. In addition to groundnut and millet cultivation, he raises some cows and sheep. Mr. Fall is Secretary General of the Fédération des organisations non gouvernementales du Sénégal, a farmer organization with 3,500 Senegalese village groups and 150,000 active members. He is also the President of the Regroupement des organisations paysannes et des producteurs agricoles de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (ROPPA). Founded in July 2000, ROPPA brings together the cooperation organizations and agencies in 10 West African countries (Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo).

Mark Fried
Mark Fried is Communications and Advocacy Coordinator for Oxfam Canada. He is also Co-Chair of the Oxfam International Trade Policy Committee, a federation of 12 international development organizations that are working to rectify the fundamental causes of poverty and injustice through humanitarian aid and development and policy defense planning in 120 countries around the world.

Daniel-Mercier Gouin
Daniel-Mercier Gouin is a professor in the agri-food economics and consumer sciences department of Université Laval in Quebec City. Since 1999, he has served as Director of the Groupe de recherche en économie et politique agricoles and, since 2004, has held the position of Chaire en analyse de la politique agricole et de la mise en marché collective at Université Laval. Mr. Gouin is the author of a study evaluating the performance of supply management in dairy production in Canada, which compares it to other models in force in five countries.

Carolynne Griffith
Born and raised on a dairy farm in the region of Sarnia, Ontario, today Carolynne Griffith runs a table egg farm with her husband Art. Their table egg farm has 27,000 laying hens and is located in Petrolia, near to Sarnia. Mrs. Griffith is also President of the Ontario Egg Producers Association and member of the Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission. Mrs. Griffith is President of FarmGate5, a coalition of organizations and individuals in Ontario dedicated to promoting and defending supply management.

Albert Jacquard
Engineer and Doctor of Genetics and Human Biology, Albert Jacquard has taught in several universities in France and abroad. An agricultural agent, humanist, philosopher and author of several books, Mr. Jacquard has traveled the world in an effort to raise public awareness of the challenges in contemporary science, while actively participating in major topical debates on the responsibilities of humans with regard to their destiny. He has been awarded a honoris causa doctorate from the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi and the Université de Moncton.

Roger D. Landry
Roger D. Landry left his mark on written media in Québec and Canada as President and Editor of the daily La Presse and Trans-Canada newspapers, in addition to serving as Chair of the Conseil de la presse canadienne and several national communications associations. Mr. Landry has actively supported a number of causes based on social, cultural and education development. He served as President of the Opéra de Montréal and held other offices for that organization. His professional and social contribution has earned him the highest distinctions, including an honoris causa doctorate from the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières. Currently in retirement, Mr. Landry lives in Sainte-Geneviève-de-Batiscan in Mauricie and raises horses.

Martine Laporte
Since 1999, Martine Laporte, 30, and her spouse Mario Arbour have been co-shareholders of the La Ferme aux Quatre Vents, located in Sainte-Béatrix in the Lanaudière region, with Martine’s father, Lucien Laporte. The farm, specialized since 1988 in hatching egg production, has two laying houses each accommodating 12,400 hens. Annual egg production is approximately 1.8 million. The chicks from the eggs are raised into broiler chickens. The Ferme aux Quatre Vents also has 750 roosters and 6,200 replacement pullets, which each have their own a laying nest.

Gérald Larose
President of the Groupe pour une économie solidaire, he has a degree in Theology and Social Work from the Université de Montréal. At the beginning of his career, he worked as a social worker in a working-class neighborhood in Montreal before making a career in organized labour. Next, he served as Chair of the Conseil central de Montréal de la Confédération des syndicats nationaux, and then as Vice Chair of the Executive Committee. In 1983, he became President of the CSN, a position he held until 1999. In 1990, he participated in the work of the Bélanger-Campeau Commission on the future of Québec. Since1999, he has been teaching at the Université du Québec à Montréal.

Denis Richard
After holding several offices on the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee of La Coop fédérée since 1993, Denis Richard has been serving as its President since February 2003. He is also Chairman of the Board of Directors of Olymel. A farmer since 1979, Mr. Richard has co-owned and operated with his spouse, Raymonde Pouliot, a farm located in Leclercville in the Lotbinière region that is exclusively dedicated to grain cultivation since 2000. Mr. Richard has a seat on the Conseil de la coopération du Québec, the Canadian Federation of Agriculture, the Filière agroalimentaire du Québec ands the Société de coopération pour le développement international.

Mgr Raymond St-Gelais
Born in Baie-Saint-Paul on March 23, 1936, Mgr Raymond Saint-Gelais completed classical studies at the Saint-Hyacinthe Seminary and majored in Theology at the higher seminary in the same city. He was ordained priest on June 12, 1960 and continued his studies in Rome from 1963 to 1966, where he earned a Licentiate in Theology and Holy Scripture. Mgr St-Gelais held various clerical positions in Saint-Hyacinthe from 1960 to 1980 until he was ordained Catholic bishop of Saint-Jérôme, a position he held until 1988. Bishop of Nicolet since 1989, Mgr Raymond St-Gelais was President of the Assemblée des évêques du Québec from 2001 to September 2005.

Jean-François Sneessens
Jean-François Sneessens has been the Secretary General of the Belgian Confederation of Beet Growers since 1981. He is also an economics professor at the Université catholique de Louvain-La-Neuve. His main focus is agricultural policy. Mr. Sneessens is the author of several publications, including: Le problème agricole et sa réponse politique (1983), Le Manifeste de la St- Hubert: Gatt, Agriculture et Société (1993), et Stratégie pour une agriculture rurale (1996). Interested particularly in agricultural policy with respect to international cooperation, he has participated in many international meetings of farmer organizations from Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe. In addition, he participated in the Dakar Declaration (2003).

Laurent Souligny
Laurent Souligny has been an egg farmer since 1983 in Eastern Ontario, with his spouse and their son. The farm has 17,000 laying hens. The Soulignys are also field crop farmers. Since March 2000, Mr. Souligny has been President of the Canadian Egg Marketing Agency after serving as Vice President for a number of years and sitting on its Board of Directors for six years as the Ontario representative. Mr. Souligny has been very active, especially as a member of the Appeal Committee of Farm Credit Canada and on the Farm Debt Review Board and was previously President of the Glengarry Agricultural Society.

Salle de presse  —  Vidéo D’abord nourrir notre monde

Vidéo « D’abord nourrir notre monde! »

De plus en plus d’individus et d’organismes issus de la société civile québécoise et d’associations de producteurs agricoles de partout dans le monde s'intéressent à la gestion de l’offre et appuient ce modèle agricole.

Dans une vidéo produite en octobre 2005, de nombreuses figures publiques québécoises, canadiennes et internationales s’expriment sur le droit inaliénable des pays à la souveraineté alimentaire et réclament la préséance de ce droit sur tout accord de commerce agricole. La vidéo présente aussi des productrices et des producteurs laitiers et avicoles qui témoignent des avantages de la gestion de l’offre.

Pour le visionnement du vidéo,
veuillez choisir votre format


Téléchargez le lecteur approprié

Notices biographiques des personnes ayant témoigné à la vidéo

Ronald Allary
En 1983, MM. Ronald, Serge et Fernand Alary s'associent avec leur père pour prendre la relève de la ferme laitière à Sainte-Sophie-des-Laurentides. Ils amorcent ensemble un programme de transition vers l'agriculture biologique menant à la certification des champs en 1999 et de la production laitière en 2000. L'entreprise familiale intègre alors une autre génération de producteurs avec Caroline, Frédérick et Gabriel. Depuis 2003, les Alary opèrent la fromagerie Les Fromagiers de la Table Ronde pour transformer une partie du lait de leur ferme. Engagé dans la coopération internationale, M. Ronald Alary a œuvré au Pérou pendant deux ans et continue d'être actif auprès d'UPA Développement international. Il a participé à un projet au Salvador et accueille chaque année des stagiaires sur sa ferme.

Gilles Arsenault
M. Gilles Arsenault et son épouse, Mme Sylvie Benoît, ont entrepris la production de poulets à griller en 1993, achetant leur quota et construisant les poulaillers leur permettant de faire l'élevage de 170 000 poulets par année, tout végétal. Leur ferme, située à Acton Vale en Montérégie, produit aussi des petits fruits. M. Arsenault apprécie de la production de volailles la mise en marché collective qui lui garantit un débouché pour son produit de même qu'un revenu à l'année. Sa ferme est l'une des premières fermes au Québec à avoir reçu, en 2005, la certification du Programme d'assurance de la salubrité des aliments à la ferme.

Claude Béland
M. Claude Béland est avocat et membre du Barreau du Québec. Il est actuellement professeur-associé à l'École des sciences de la gestion à l'Université du Québec à Montréal, président du conseil d'administration de la chaire Économie et Humanisme, dont il a été le premier titulaire. Cette chaire est devenue depuis peu la Chaire de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises et du développement durable. Au service de la Fédération des caisses d'économie du Québec à partir de 1971, M. Béland en devient le directeur général en 1979. Nommé adjoint au président du Mouvement Desjardins en 1986, il est élu président du Mouvement en 1987, poste qu'il a occupé jusqu'à son départ en 2000.

Paulin Bouchard
Deuxième vice-président de la Fédération des producteurs d'œufs de consommation du Québec, M. Paulin Bouchard est propriétaire de la ferme Paulin Bouchard Inc. à Saint Gédéon-de-Beauce. La ferme compte un troupeau de 22 000 poules pondeuses. Ardent défenseur de la gestion de l'offre, il a pris la relève à 22 ans de la ferme de ses parents, Thérèse et Ludger Bouchard, et souhaite que ses enfants fassent de même. Paulin est la deuxième génération de Bouchard à exploiter cette entreprise de production d'œufs de consommation. En plus de son implication dans le syndicalisme agricole, il est administrateur d'une coopérative à St-Gédéon-de-Beauce et participe avec son épouse Michelle aux activités de plusieurs organismes de leur milieu.

Roger Carette
Maire de la municipalité de Saint-Georges-de-Beauce et membre du conseil d'administration de l'Union des municipalités du Québec, M. Roger Carette croit au développement du partenariat pour créer des emplois et à l'implication collective pour atteindre les buts que l'on s'est fixé et pour réussir. Il a été directeur général de la Commission scolaire régionale de la Chaudière et fondateur du Centre intégré de mécanique industrielle de la Chaudière. Il a initié et mené à bien de nombreuses démarches de concertation avec les différents paliers de gouvernement, les établissements collégiaux et universitaires et les entreprises de sa région.

Stuart Clark
M. Stuart Clark est conseiller principal pour la Canadian Foodgrains Bank (CFB), un organisme caritatif agissant au nom de 13 communautés religieuses chrétiennes du Canada. Venant en aide aux plus démunis de ce monde, la CFB a fait parvenir jusqu'à maintenant, grâce aux dons recueillis auprès des Canadiens, plus de 944 000 tonnes de nourriture à des populations souffrant de malnutrition. M. Stuart est considéré comme un expert sur les questions relatives au commerce international équitable, étant engagé activement depuis plus de trente ans dans l'agroalimentaire, l'aide alimentaire, l'agriculture et le droit des peuples à l'alimentation.

Pierre Curzi
Homme de théâtre et acteur confirmé, Pierre Curzi s'est illustré dans les films Le Déclin de l'empire américain et Les Invasions barbares de Denys Arcand. Passionné par le théâtre, il est aussi un homme engagé dans l'amélioration des conditions des artistes. M. Curzi est président de l'Union des artistes, coprésident de la Coalition canadienne pour la diversité culturelle et vice-président de la Fédération internationale des acteurs. Son implication dans les enjeux politiques, sociaux et économiques de la culture est importante. Il lutte pour la diversité culturelle et contre l'assujettissement des politiques culturelles aux contraintes d'accords du commerce international.

Marielle Fafard
La Ferme L'Étendard Inc. est spécialisée dans la production de dindons et de grandes cultures à Saint-Félix-de-Valois, dans la région de Lanaudière. Cette ferme familiale en est à sa cinquième génération, représentée par Mme Marielle Fafard et son mari, M. Yvan Poirier. Mme Fafard est préoccupée par les négociations à l'Organisation mondiale du commerce et par la relève, d'où son implication dans diverses activités de valorisation de la profession, lesquelles lui permettent de promouvoir la gestion de l'offre. Mme Fafard s'est aussi engagée activement dans les activités de recrutement de la Coalition GO5 dans son milieu.

N'Diogou Fall
M. N'Diogou Fall exploite avec sa famille une petite ferme de 10 hectares à Risso, un village près de Thiès dans le bassin arachidier du Sénégal. Outre la culture de l'arachide et du mil, il fait l'élevage de quelques vaches et moutons. M. Fall est secrétaire général de la Fédération des organisations non gouvernementales du Sénégal, une organisation paysanne qui regroupe 3 500 groupements villageois sénégalais et 150 000 membres cotisants. Il est aussi le président du Regroupement des organisations paysannes et des producteurs agricoles de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (ROPPA). Fondé en juillet 2000, le ROPPA regroupe des organisations ou organismes de concertation de 10 pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest (Bénin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambie, Guinée, Guinée-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Sénégal, Togo).

Mark Fried
M. Mark Fried est coordonnateur des communications et des plaidoyers pour Oxfam Canada. Il est aussi coprésident du Comité des politiques commerciales d'Oxfam International, une fédération de 12 organisations de développement international qui tente de remédier aux causes profondes de la pauvreté et de l'injustice grâce à l'assistance humanitaire, la programmation en matière de développement et la défense des politiques dans 120 pays du monde.

Daniel-Mercier Gouin
M. Daniel-Mercier Gouin est professeur au Département d'économie agroalimentaire et des sciences de la consommation de l'Université Laval à Québec. Depuis 1999, il est directeur du Groupe de recherche en économie et politique agricoles et, depuis 2004, titulaire de la Chaire en analyse de la politique agricole et de la mise en marché collective de l'Université Laval. M. Gouin est l'auteur d'une étude évaluant la performance du système de gestion de l'offre dans la production laitière au Canada en le comparant à d'autres modèles en vigueur dans cinq pays.

Carolynne Griffith
Née et ayant grandi sur une ferme laitière de la région de Sarnia, en Ontario, Mme Carolynne Griffith est aujourd'hui productrice d'œufs de consommation avec son mari, Art. Leur ferme d'œufs de consommation, comptant un troupeau de 27 000 poules pondeuses, est située à Petrolia, près de Sarnia. Mme Griffith est également présidente de l'Association des producteurs d'œufs de consommation de l'Ontario et membre de la Commission de commercialisation des produits agricoles de l'Ontario. Mme Griffith est présidente de FarmGate5, une coalition d'organismes et d'individus de l'Ontario vouée à promouvoir et défendre la gestion de l'offre.

Albert Jacquard
Ingénieur, docteur en génétique et en biologie humaine, M. Albert Jacquard a enseigné dans plusieurs universités en France et à l'étranger. Vulgarisateur scientifique, humaniste, philosophe et auteur de plusieurs livres, M. Jacquard a fait le tour du monde pour sensibiliser l'opinion publique aux défis de la science contemporaine, tout en participant activement aux grands débats actuels qui portent sur les responsabilités de l'être humain face à sa destinée. Parmi les distinctions qu'il a reçues, citons les doctorats honoris causa de l'Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et de l'Université de Moncton.

Roger D. Landry
M. Roger D. Landry a marqué l'histoire de la presse écrite au Québec et au Canada à titre de président et éditeur du quotidien La Presse et des journaux Trans-Canada, en plus d'assumer la présidence du Conseil de la presse canadienne et de plusieurs associations nationales du domaine des communications. Homme engagé, M. Landry a soutenu de nombreuses causes axées sur le développement social, la culture et l'éducation. Il fut, entre autres, président de l'Opéra de Montréal. Sa contribution professionnelle et sociale lui a valu les plus hautes distinctions, dont un doctorat honoris causa de l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières. Retraité, M. Landry vit à Sainte-Geneviève-de-Batiscan en Mauricie et est éleveur de chevaux.

Martine Laporte
Depuis 1999, Mme Martine Laporte, 30 ans, et son conjoint M. Mario Arbour sont coactionnaires de La Ferme aux Quatre Vents, située à Sainte-Béatrix dans la région de Lanaudière, avec le père de Martine, M. Lucien Laporte. La ferme, spécialisée depuis 1988 dans la production des œufs d'incubation, compte deux poulaillers de ponte qui accueillent chacun 12 400 poules. La production annuelle d'œufs est d'environ 1,8 million. Les poussins issus de ces œufs sont destinés à l'élevage de poulets à griller. À la Ferme aux Quatre Vents, on fait aussi l'élevage de 750 coqs et de 6 200 poulettes de remplacement qui occupent chaque pondoir.

Gérald Larose
Président du Groupe pour une économie solidaire, il est diplômé en théologie et en travail social de l'Université de Montréal. Au début de sa carrière, il œuvre comme travailleur social dans un quartier populaire de Montréal avant de faire carrière dans le mouvement syndical. Il occupe ensuite la présidence du Conseil central de Montréal de la Confédération des syndicats nationaux, puis la vice-présidence du comité exécutif. En 1983, il devient président de la CSN, fonction qu'il conservera jusqu'en 1999. En 1990, il participe aux travaux de la Commission Bélanger-Campeau sur l'avenir du Québec. Depuis 1999, il enseigne à l'Université du Québec à Montréal.

Denis Richard
Ayant occupé plusieurs fonctions au sein du conseil d'administration et du comité exécutif de La Coop fédérée depuis 1993, M. Denis Richard y assume la présidence depuis février 2003. Il est aussi président du conseil d'administration d'Olymel. Producteur agricole depuis 1979, M. Richard exploite depuis 2000, en copropriété avec sa conjointe, Mme Raymonde Pouliot, une ferme dédiée exclusivement à la céréaliculture située à Leclercville dans la région de Lotbinière. M. Richard siège au Conseil de la coopération du Québec, à la Fédération canadienne de l'agriculture, à la Filière agroalimentaire du Québec, ainsi qu'à la Société de coopération pour le développement international.

Mgr Raymond St-Gelais
Né à Baie-Saint-Paul le 23 mars 1936, Mgr Raymond Saint-Gelais a fait ses études classiques au Séminaire de Saint-Hyacinthe et ses études théologiques au Grand Séminaire de la même ville. Il est ordonné prêtre le 12 juin 1960 et poursuit ses études à Rome de 1963 à 1966, où il obtient une licence en théologie et une licence en écritures saintes. Mgr St-Gelais a rempli plusieurs fonctions pastorales à Saint-Hyacinthe de 1960 à 1980 jusqu'à ce qu'il soit ordonné évêque du diocèse de Saint-Jérôme, fonction qu'il a assumée jusqu'en 1988. Évêque du diocèse de Nicolet depuis 1989, Mgr Raymond St Gelais a été président de l'Assemblée des évêques du Québec de 2001 jusqu'à septembre 2005.

Jean-François Sneessens
M. Jean François Sneessens est le secrétaire général de la Confédération des betteraviers belges depuis 1981. Il est aussi professeur d'économie à l'Université catholique de Louvain-La-Neuve. Son centre d'intérêt est la politique agricole. M. Sneessens est l'auteur de plusieurs publications dont : Le problème agricole et sa réponse politique (1983), Le Manifeste de la St- Hubert: Gatt, Agriculture et Société (1993), et Stratégie pour une agriculture rurale (1996). S'intéressant particulièrement aux politiques agricoles en regard de la coopération internationale, il a participé à de nombreuses rencontres regroupant des organisations paysannes et des producteurs agricoles d'Afrique, d'Amérique, d'Asie et d'Europe. Il a notamment participé à la Déclaration de Dakar (2003).

Laurent Souligny
M. Laurent Souligny est producteur d'œufs depuis 1983 dans l'est de l'Ontario avec son épouse et leur fils. La ferme compte un troupeau de 17 000 pondeuses. Les Souligny sont aussi producteurs de grandes cultures. Depuis mars 2000, M. Souligny est président de l'Office canadien de commercialisation des œufs de consommation après avoir été vice-président pendant de nombreuses années et siégé au conseil d'administration pendant six ans à titre de représentant de l'Ontario. Homme engagé, M. Souligny a notamment siégé à la Commission d'appel de la Société du crédit agricole, au Comité d'examen du bureau d'endettement agricole et fut président de la Société d'agriculture de Glengarry.